Just in time for the holidays…

Posted: 0 18th October, 2011 in Holiday Season 2011, The business of Entrepreneurship

Autumn; my favorite time of year is finally here along with the blessings of cooler weather for Central Texas, and Winter is not too far behind. The festivities will well and truly begin for me with the airing of “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown”. I don’t know how many of you grew up watching the seasonal cartoons specials, and movies, but I did; and this happens to be one of my favorites. Like many latchkey kids, TV was and is to this day a comforting friend; one that helps me to mark the change in seasons, celebrate holidays, and do happy dances for my adult-wannabe-geek changes to gadgets & media. I’m starting my yearly search for my favorites to either watch on Netflix (now that they’ve gotten their act together) or the multitude of cable channels I have at my disposal.

What I’ve also begun to do is grab my favorite snacks, and newly found tid-bits to try from online recipe sites. Unlike Snoopy, I’ll have more than toast, jelly beans, and buttered popcorn to serve to friends this year, and to donate to my look area food bank. Growing up in New York City in my mixed African-American/Native American/Pennsylvania Dutch family meant that holidays were all about the food. Our holiday tables were an example of the excess that many Americans go to for Holiday season. Just so long as the house smells like your favorite roast beast with undertones of Nana’s baking, especially anything made with cinnamon, brown sugar, and vanilla meant that the season is upon us. This year, like the last few will be different for so many American families, so Mom and I have already come up with our plan to donate time and in-kind to families in need.

Don’t get me wrong, we’re gonna cook, and decorate, and generally make merry. We’ll also thank everything that is holy (thank you Buddha) that I have a good job, can pay my bills, and make a good home for us. We’ll also say prayers & chant for those in need. I hope you find the link below helpful for your holiday cooking escapades, and remember what yo’ Mama taught you and say “Please and Thank You”. Give just a lil bit more this season; it’ll come back to you in unexpected ways.

I’ll come back with an update on giving resources for the Holidays, my cooking experiments, and all that’s fun for the holiday season. Have a great one y’all!

How to make real vanilla extract in time for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

